La Montagne des rêves évanouis

Xylography / 2016

La montagne des rêves évanouis, xylography, 474 x 122 cm, 2016

The prints are haunted by the ascent of the Everest of George Mallory and his disappearance during his expedition. Its history takes the form of a modern myth, that of a man whose hubris consists in wanting to dominate the roof of the world.

 

In the presence of a suspended time, the mountain organizes the space on which the bodies bend, rise, merge. The eye is attracted in complex circulations. From afar, you can feel a mythical thread, a stream of waves and forces, but you have to come closer to see the fragments of an exploded history, the vision engulfed by detailed, scattered and mobile elements.

 

The line is a first movement: a movement without hesitation or retouching. I compose my plate from the first cut which will be the axis around which the image is organized, I start from the bottom of the plate to get to the top. It is a groping ascent, in close combat with the wood, this mountain in the company of Mallory.

Camille Dufour © / Photography : Rafaël Klepfisch ©

La Montagne des rêves évanouis

Xylographie / 2016

La montagne des rêves évanouis, xylographie, 474 x 122 cm, 2016

Les gravures sont hantées par l’ascension et la disparition de George Mallory dans son expédition sur l’Everest. Son histoire revêt la forme d’un mythe moderne, celui d’un homme dont l’hybris consiste à vouloir dominer le toit du monde.

 

En présence d’un temps suspendu, la montagne organise l’espace sur lequel les corps se plient, s’élèvent, se fondent. L’œil est entrainé dans des circulations complexes. De loin, on sent un fil mythique, courant d’ondes et de forces mais il faut s’approcher pour voir les fragments d’une histoire éclatée, la vision engloutie d’éléments détaillés, éparpillés et mobiles.

 

Le trait est un premier mouvement, un mouvement sans hésitation ni retouche. Je compose ma plaque à partir de la première entaille qui va être l’axe autour duquel l’image s’organise, je pars du bas de la plaque pour arriver au sommet. C’est gravir à tâtons, en corps à corps acharné avec le bois, cette montagne en compagnie de Mallory.

Camille Dufour © / Photographies : Rafaël Klepfisch ©